Beauty

DIY Face Mask: Oats and Honey

Hi Chics!

We all want healthy, glowing, spot free skin! But let’s be honest, a constant trip to the salon for a relaxing spa day or spending out £££ on high end face masks aren’t on everyone’s agenda. Especially those who are on a strict budget! So I’ve decided that I’m going to be posting DIY face masks that I’ve tried and tested!

My first face mask is oats and honey! Oats is great for soothing tough, angry skin and it’s also good for helping to heal eczema and acne breakouts!  Combining it with honey, yoghurt and coconut oil it’s a very calming and revitalising mask for all skin types.

The ingredients//

– 50g of Oats

– 50ml Hot Water

– 1 Tablespoon of Honey

– 1 Teaspoon of Coconut Oil (optional)

– 1-2 Tablespoons of plain, unsweetened yoghurt.

17571236_10212900391651435_1999217148_o

 

 I start off by adding all the ingredients in a ball, I then add the hot water and stir for a few minutes so that’s it’s all nicely plumped. At this stage you can apply it to your face, but it’s very “oaty” and bits are more than likely to fall off your face. (Trust me, I tried it).
17670683_10212900392051445_1219562402_o
After leaving the mixture for the mask for 2 minutes, I then either put it into a blender or whisk it all together. This then makes it smooth and it combines really nicely together. I then put the mixture all over my face and leave it on for 10 minutes or so and then wash with warm water.
17623005_10212900664818264_871916346_o
When this is on your face, it feels quite sticky and odd and it doesn’t quite dry like a store bought face mask but it really does work. I usually have redness on my cheeks, nose and chin and this face mask really reduces it. I often suffer with break outs when I am stressed and the mask too really helps!
17668754_10212900409771888_757013147_o
If there’s any DIY face masks you would like me to try out, leave a comment!
Thank you for reading x
17 thoughts on “DIY Face Mask: Oats and Honey

  1. I love homemade face masks! I think they work much better and are much more gentle than store bought masks. I might just have really sensitive skin though. Honey and olive oil is a favorite of mine. It’s easy and leaves my skin fresh and glowing.

    Like

  2. The first time I tried a mask with oats and yoghurt, I was a bit uneasy about putting food on my face, but it worked so well! It softened, soothed and smoothed my skin. A lovely mask recipe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

